Posts 2017

My week in books 23-29th January

Every week I aim to do a little recap of my week in books – hopefully I’ll manage it! This week has been my first week blogging and I’m really enjoying it. I’m still getting to grips with things and tweeking things but so far I’ve been really pleased with the response, what a lovely bunch of people book people are (though this I already knew!)
I’ve set myself some monthly reading goals in the hope that it will encourage me to read some of the books I’ve had for over six months and clear some space for new reads. I’ve managed to achieve them for January, hopefully I can do it for the next eleven months of the year:
– Read at least 3-4 books for review
– Read one British Library Crime Classic or Agatha Christie
– Read one book that I’ve had for over six months

What I’ve been reading:

20170129_132651
This week has been a pretty good week for reading, I’ve enjoyed all four of the books I’ve read which is always a bonus
‘The Keeper of Lost Things’ by Ruth Hogan – With beautiful writing and wonderful characters, Ruth Hogan has given us a book that is heartwarming, poignant and human. A book with the perfect balance of heartbreaking moments and joyful occasions. And there’s dogs!
‘Hold Back The Stars’ by Katie Khan – I found myself clutching to this book for dear life as I raced towards the mind-bending end. A unique and beautiful love story that makes you go through a whole range of emotions, this one will stick with me for awhile.
‘Frozen Charlotte’ by Alex Bell – A Young Adult horror story from Red Eye that I’ve had on my shelf for an embarrassing length of time. This was so so creepy, I felt chills on the back of my neck and I will never look a tiny dolls the same way again.
‘Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them’ by J.K Rowling – Obviously this needs no introduction. I’ve yet to see the film but after reading the screen play I am even more excited about it! I thoroughly enjoyed myself reading this, escaping into J.K Rowling’s wizarding world is always a wonderful experience.

Book Post:

20170129_132623
My little stash this week included:
‘Midnight Blue’ by Simone Van Der Vlugt – Set in Amsterdam 1654, this is the story of Catrin, a twenty-five year old widow who leaves her small village to be a housekeeper for a prominent Dutch family. Events lead her to become a pottery painter but when tragedy strikes she has to make the ultimate choice. A tale of ambition and heartbreak set in the Dutch Golden Age. Published 4th May Harper
‘A Piece of the World’ by Christina Baker Kline – I adored Christina Baker Kline’s previous novel ‘The Orphan Train’ so I’m really excited about this one. Christina Olson’s whole world has been a rocky, windswept point on the coast of Maine, the farmhouse her ancestors fled to from the Salem witch trials. A world she fears she will never leave. As a girl, farm life asked more of Christina than it did her family, her wasting limbs turning every task into a challenge. But the very tenacity that strengthened her may dash her chances for a life beyond her chores and extinguish her hopes for love. Years pass and Christina’s solitude is broken by the arrival of Andrew Wyeth, a young artist who is fixated on the isolated farm house. In Christina he will discover more than a kindred spirit; for him, she will become a muse like no other. Published 23rd March Borough Press
‘The Fourth Monkey’ by J.D Barker – This book is described as ‘Se7en meets The Silence of the Lambs’ so I have high hopes. For over five years, the Four Monkey Killer has terrorised the residents of Chicago. When his body is found, the police quickly realise he was on his way to deliver one final message, one which proves he has taken another victim who may still be alive. As the lead investigator Detective Sam Porter knows even in death, the killer is far from finished. When he discovers a personal diary in the jacket pocket of the body, Porter finds himself caught up in the mind of a psychopath, unravelling a twisted history in hopes of finding one last girl, all while struggling with personal demons of his own. With only a handful of clues, the elusive killer’s identity remains a mystery. Time is running out and the Four Monkey Killer taunts from beyond the grave in this masterfully written fast-paced thriller. Published 27th July HQ Stories.

 

I plan to kick off this weeks reading with ‘Behind Her Eyes’ by Sarah Pinborough. I’ve heard so many people raving about it and I am dying to know all about the #wtfthatending hash tag. Have a good bookish week everyone!

 

3 thoughts on “My week in books 23-29th January

  1. I just discovered your blog today! Welcome:) I’m pretty new myself as I just started my blog Oct 1. I just requested Hold Back The Stars from Netgalley and I’m really hoping I get approved, it looks fantastic and I think It’s set to be a big summer hit

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

