Posts 2017

January Blues…

20170131_150434

 

By ‘blues’ I mean book covers. This month all the books I read had blue covers, this did start as a happy coincidence but after my first three blue covered reads I decided to have a little fun and colour co-ordinate my month’s reading. As much as I would love to do this every month, my February must-reads are all differing colours. However I will try to colour theme again at some point later this year.

 

I shocked myself by managing to read ten books over the course of January, after having a baby at the end of September last year, reading is not always possible but I seemed to have nailed it this month. It would be lovely to keep up this level of reading but some days it’s impossible to do anything other than to comply to the tiny one!

THE BOOKS:

 

‘The Essex Serpent’ Sarah Perry – My first read of 2017 and it did not disappoint. I was happy to be ensnared in its grasp. Atmospheric, beautifully written and with a splash of Gothic darkness this book is a worthy winner of the Waterstones Book of the Year.
‘Homegoing’ Yaa Gyasi – A truly unique and interesting read that spans generations and illustrates the hardships and prejudices that have been and still are being faced today. With fourteen different characters, each with their own chapter we get a snippet of their lives, a snapshot of the struggles and triumphs against an ever changing social backdrop.
‘The Poisoned Chocolates Case’ Anthony Berkeley – An intriguing and entertaining story. A stand out offering from the British Library Crime Classics series in which we are treated to not one but six amateur sleuths all offering readers different solutions to this perplexing mystery.
‘Gilded Cage’ Vic James – With stunning imagery, this was a dark, entertaining tale of rebellion and magic. The opening intrigued and excited me, it dangled the promise of a compelling and spell-bounding read. And it delivered!
‘Sometimes I Lie’ Alice Feeney – After about 50 pages I was completely and utterly in the grasp of Alice Feeney, the tale of Amber Reynolds had grabbed me and wouldn’t let go. I raced towards the end, desperate to see how it played out and I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. Completely and utterly gripping, full of twists and unputdownable.
‘Strange the Dreamer’ Laini Taylor – Oh this book was just everything I wanted and more! Exquisitely written, characters that have become my friends and a story that blew my mind. I am in awe of Laini Taylor’s ability to make everyday words beautiful. Saying I’m looking forward to the follow-up is an understatement!
‘The Keeper of Lost Things’ by Ruth Hogan – With beautiful writing and wonderful characters, Ruth Hogan has given us a book that is heartwarming, poignant and human. A book with the perfect balance of heartbreaking moments and joyful occasions. And there’s dogs!
‘Hold Back The Stars’ by Katie Khan – I found myself clutching to this book for dear life as I raced towards the mind-bending end. A unique and beautiful love story that makes you go through a whole range of emotions, this one will stick with me for awhile.
‘Frozen Charlotte’ by Alex Bell – A Young Adult horror story from Red Eye that I’ve had on my shelf for an embarrassing length of time. This was so so creepy, I felt chills on the back of my neck and I will never look a tiny dolls the same way again.
‘Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them’ by J.K Rowling – Obviously this needs no introduction. I’ve yet to see the film but after reading the screen play I am even more excited about it! I thoroughly enjoyed myself reading this, escaping into J.K Rowling’s wizarding world is always a wonderful experience.

 

I can honestly say I’ve enjoyed each and everyone of these books and I can recommend them all. My full reviews can be found on waterstones.com or on Good Reads.

 

What’s everyone else been reading? What are you looking forward to in February? I’ve just started ‘A Dangerous Crossing’ by Rachel Rhys and I am loving it so far. February could be another month of great reads for me. I hope every has a lovely bookish month!

 

2 thoughts on “January Blues…

Leave a Reply

