Posts 2017 · Reviews

Review – ‘Strange The Dreamer’ by Laini Taylor

dreamer

 

THE BOOK:
The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around – and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever. What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving? The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries – including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?

 

THE REVIEW:

‘A perfectly delightful shade of blue’

Oh my heart this book. THIS BOOK!! This is a review I’ve been both dreading and looking forward to in equal measure. Dreading it because this book is amazing and I know I can’t do it justice in a review and looking forward to it because this book is amazing and I want to shout about it! I adored The Daughter Of Smoke And Bone trilogy and this new book did not disappoint at all.
Laini Taylor’s imagination is a vast, exquisite and beautiful thing. The characters and worlds she creates feel completely and utterly real. Her storytelling ability is out of this world. Her writing is a thing of gorgeous beauty, I am in awe of the way she can make words so utterly stunning. There are so many lines I had to re-read just because they took my breath away and I have a new favourite phrase ‘ecstatic dazzlement’ and that is certainly a phrase that suits this book.
‘Strange The Dreamer’ is a tale of mystery, adventure, mythic characters, magic and love. The characters become your friends and I have to say Lazlo Strange, with his nose broken by a falling book of fairy tales, is one of my favourite fictional characters. Blurring the lines between gods and monsters, bad guys and good guys this is a story like no other. From the opening page that sees a blue girl falling from the sky right until the last edge-of-your seat finale, you find yourself immersed in a magical world. And I did not want to leave. I happily spent my time reading this and I know that I will re-read in the future. I just hope the next instalment appears sooner rather than later!

 

WARNING: Will cause a major book hangover!

BOOKISH CORNER RATING – 5/5 STARS

 

img_20161125_164821

 

THE AUTHOR:

Laini Taylor is the author of ‘The Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ trilogy. She lives in Portland, Oregan with her illustrator husband, Jim Di Bartolo and their daughter Clementine.

Published 28th March – Hodder

Final cover art from waterstones.com

 

 

4 thoughts on “Review – ‘Strange The Dreamer’ by Laini Taylor

Leave a Reply

