Posts 2017

My Week in Books – 30th January -5th February

This week has been one of those weeks where time has just ran away from me, life with a four month old has certainly taught me that there are not enough hours in the day! I had a proud Mummy moment this week when bubba Leo started turning the pages of his own books! I am determined to make him into a book worm, he already has his own little library of books and reading to him is part of our everyday life. Sometimes we read his books and sometimes I kill two birds with one stone and read aloud from whatever I happen to be reading!

20170204_184326

WHAT I’VE BEEN READING:

Only two reads this week the first was ‘A Dangerous Crossing’ by Rachel Rhys, and the second is ‘Behind Her Eyes’ by Sarah Pinborough, which I am still currently reading. I’m about 100 pages from the end and I have no clue how it’s going to end. I can’t wait to find out.

20170204_181101

‘Behind Her Eyes’ – Sarah Pinborough

Since her husband walked out, Louise has made her son her world, supporting them both with her part-time job. But all that changes when she meets…David Young, successful and charming – Louise cannot believe a man like him would look at her twice let alone be attracted to her. But that all comes to a grinding halt when she meets his wife…Adele Beautiful, elegant and sweet – Louise’s new friend seems perfect in every way. As she becomes obsessed by this flawless couple, entangled in the intricate web of their marriage, they each, in turn, reach out to her. But only when she gets to know them both does she begin to see the cracks…Is David really is the man she thought she knew and is Adele as vulnerable as she appears? Just what terrible secrets are they both hiding and how far will they go to keep them.

‘Dangerous Crossing’ – Rachel Rhys
It was a first class deception that would change her life forever. 1939, Europe on the brink of war. Lily Shepherd leaves England on an ocean liner for Australia, escaping her life of drudgery for new horizons. She is instantly seduced by the world on board: cocktails, black-tie balls and beautiful sunsets. Suddenly, Lily finds herself mingling with people who would otherwise never give her the time of day. But soon she realises her glamorous new friends are not what they seem. The rich and hedonistic Max and Eliza Campbell, mysterious and flirtatious Edward, and fascist George are all running away from tragedy and scandal even greater than her own. By the time the ship docks, two passengers are dead, war has been declared, and life will never be the same again.

You can find my review here Review – ‘A Dangerous Crossing’ by Rachel Rhys

Finally I managed to complete my review for ‘Strange the Dreamer’ by Laini Taylor and post it this week  Review – ‘Strange The Dreamer’ by Laini Taylor

BOOK POST:

Only two through the letterbox this week -‘A Dangerous Crossing’ by Rachel Rhys which I dived into immediately! And ‘Hidden Chapters’ by Mary Grand

20170205_132951

‘Hidden Chapters’ – Mary Grand

Catrin is fifty. She survives by denying her past. Her marriage is in crisis. She has devoted herself for eighteen years to bringing up her adopted deaf daughter, Bethan. Catrin arrives at a memorial for her brother. She is unaware that her life is about to be shattered by the appearance of the woman she has been told is dead, Bethan’s birth mother, Elizabeth. Catrin is devastated. How will Bethan react? Why has Elizabeth hidden away all these years?

Slowly and painfully, Catrin is forced to examine the web of lies and secrets from her past, the unexplained death of her ‘golden brother’, the truths about her alcoholic mother and the relationships she has now with her father and husband. ‘Hidden Chapters’ is an optimistic novel about the hope and the courage each of us can find within ourselves to own our past and take control of the next chapter of our lives.

BOOK BUYS!

20170204_181133

I’ve treated myself this week to a couple of Agatha Christie’s. She is my all time favourite crime writer and I have a goal to have a full and complete Agatha collection one day. I must admit I’m not far off achieving this! Alongside my ‘new’ covered collection I have also started looking out for interesting covered Christie’s – my particular favourites at the moment are the Fontana covers printed in the 60’s and 70’s. They are so dark and macabre I just love ’em! I picked up a couple of bargains from eBay this week – ‘Cards On The Table’, ‘Evil Under The Sun’ and ‘Murder In Mesopotamia’.
This week has also seen the birth of Emma’s Bookish Corner’s Instagram account. I love taking pictures of books, it’s a strange hobby I know, but I don’t care! And I started to play around with accessorising my reads too just for a bit of fun. Make sure you give me a follow – just hit the link on the homepage. I’ve also been working on a blog post which features the British Library Crime Classics series – I adore this series of books and I decided to spout my love for it in a blog post so keep an eye out for that over the next few days. I hope every has a lovely bookish week!

3 thoughts on “My Week in Books – 30th January -5th February

Leave a Reply

