Posts 2017

Blogger Recognition Award!

blogger-award

I was stunned and amazed to see I had been nominated for this. A huge big massive thank you to Katherine aka BiblioManiac for nominating me! My blog is only three weeks old so to say I was surprised and chuffed is an understatement! It is still a work in progress and I’m honoured to receive this award. The blogging community has been so welcoming and friendly and I love being a part of it. Once again THANK YOU Katherine!
You can follow Katherine here Biblio Maniac and enjoy her fab book reviews and recommends.

 

Since I originally wrote this post I have also been nominated by Jo at Jo’s Book Blog I can’t believe I’ve had a second nomination a big THANK YOU to Jo. Click the link to follow her blog which I recommend you do!

 

RULES OF THE AWARD:

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
2. Write a post to show your award.
3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
5. Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
6. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide a link to the post you created.

 

How my blog started 

I’ve been a bookseller for 7 years, yes I am one of those super lucky people to be surrounded by books all day! And get a wonderful staff discount – which is the root of my TBR pile! I’d toyed with the idea of starting a blog for a couple of years, I spend my days recommending and talking about books so it seemed like a natural progression. I’ve been reviewing books since I became a bookseller on waterstones.com and Good Reads and that developed into the Emma’s Bookish Corner Facebook page. I gave birth to my son in September last year so I’m currently on maternity leave and I needed to do something for myself so I took the plunge and finally started my blog.

 

Two pieces of advice to new bloggers 
As I am a new blogger this is quite tough, I don’t feel I’ve earnt my stripes as a blogger yet so I don’t really feel qualified to give advice. So I have viewed this as giving advice to fellow reviewers rather than bloggers

1. Review honestly – if a book isn’t to your taste and just didn’t tick the boxes for you then don’t be afraid to say so. I have written more than one review for books that I didn’t particularly enjoy but I do always try to find something positive to say. Just because I didn’t like it doesn’t mean everyone will agree with me.
2. If it feels like a chore, stop – Blogging and reviewing for us is a hobby and extension of our hobby of reading. If it ever stops being enjoyable then take a break. It doesn’t have to be permanent – just give yourself time to remember why you blog or review. Read some books you don’t have to review!

 

Bloggers to pass on the award to 
As I’ve already said I am very new to the blogging world and there are a whole host of amazing blogs I have yet to discover. The ones I have discovered are all brilliant, have all inspired me in some way or other and have given me goals of where I want my blog to be in the future and that’s why I have picked them. Some of my 15 have already been nominated so I apologise for duplicating – you just have to accept that fact you’re awesome and people love your blogs!

Emma at Damppebbles

Lauren at Lauren’s Book Addiction

Nat at The Owl On The Bookshelf

Ronnie Turner

Sarah at By The Letter Book Reviews

Wendy at Little Bookness Lane

Jo at My Chestnut Reading Tree

Drew at The Tattooed Book Geek

Hayley at Rather Too Fond of Books

Joanne at Portobello Book Blog

Anne at Random Things Through My Letterbox

Emma at Emma the Little Bookworm

Jen Med’s Book Reviews

Renee at Its Book Talk

Cleo at Cleopatra Loves Books

 

15622340_10154813902988838_627777582114834251_n

18 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award!

Leave a Reply

