Posts 2017

My Week In Books – 6th February – 12th February

This week I was very surprised and honoured to receive a Blogger Recognition Award from blogger BiblioManiac – Thank you Katherine! There will be a full post on this later, my blog is only three weeks old so to receive this really is special to me 😀

blogger-award

What I’ve Been Reading:

20170212_121220
‘Behind Her Eyes’ Sarah Pinborough – I really can’t decide how I feel about this book. It’s left me feeling very unsettled because I can’t decide how I feel! It was certainly gripping and the ending without a doubt lived up to the #wtfthatending hash tag. But I can’t decide whether it’s a good wtf or a bad wtf!
‘Before The Rains’ Dinah Jefferies – Another fabulous novel from Dinah Jefferies. It transported me to 1930’s India, the writing is superb and evocative – I could feel the blazing Indian sun on my neck. If you haven’t read any of her books then I suggest you do! You can find my review here ‘Before The Rains’
‘Verdict of Twelve’ Raymond Postgate – The latest in my beloved British Library Crime Classics series. I’m half way through at the moment and loving it. An intriguing crime novel that follows the trial of a woman accused of murder, we follow the trial through the eyes of the jurors. Part one is an introduction to the twelve members and they all have secrets – how delicious! At the start of the week I wrote a post spouting my love for these books, read it here The British Library Crime Classics

 

Book Post:

20170212_121314
Only one through the letter box this week (sad face) but it looks like a cracker! ‘My Husband’s Wife’ by Amanda Prowse. And it was signed – a nice little extra touch. It will be my first read by this author so I’m looking forward to it.
Once a week, Rosie Tipcott counts her blessings. She goes to sit on her favourite bench on the north Devon cliffs, and thanks her lucky stars for her wonderful husband, her mischievous young daughters, and her neat little house by the sea. She vows to dedicate every waking hour to making her family happy. But then her husband unexpectedly leaves her for another woman and takes the children. Now she must ask the question: what is left in her life? Can Rosie find the strength to rebuild herself? More importantly, does she even want to?

 

Book Buys:

20170212_121134
Once again some Agatha Christie’s fell into my eBay basket – don’t you just hate it when that happens??!! I’m very happy to add ‘The Moving Finger’, ‘Hallowe’en Party’ and ‘The Body in The Library’ to my ever growing collection of Fontana covers. Just look at them – aren’t they fantastic?!
Also this week I popped into my second home – Waterstones. I am one of those very lucky people who has the wonderful job of being a bookseller! I’m currently on maternity leave but I have to visit the work family regularly for a good ole book gossip and to say hello to the books. This visit though shockingly I DID NOT BUY ANYTHING! Well anything for me that is – Leo came away with a nice new board book ‘Where’s Mr Lion?’ it’s a hide and seek book with flaps and wonderfully colourful illustrations.

20170212_121157

 

I hope everyone has had a wonderfully bookish week and here’s to the next one!

Leave a Reply

