Posts 2017 · Reviews

Review – ‘Good Me Bad Me’ by Ali Land

20170221_181541

 

THE BOOK:

Annie’s mother is a serial killer. The only way she can make it stop is to hand her in to the police. But out of sight is not out of mind.

As her mother’s trial looms, the secrets of her past won’t let Annie sleep, even with a new foster family and name – Milly. A fresh start. Now, surely, she can be whoever she wants to be. But Milly’s mother is a serial killer. And blood is thicker than water. Good me, bad me. She is, after all, her mother’s daughter…

 

THE REVIEW:

Oh my goodness I found this book so unbelievably tense. I kept finding myself holding my breath as I was reading. This is one of those books where it’s pretty hard to write a review because you don’t want to give anything away, hence the reason why my blog review is pretty short!
The premise of this book intrigued me as soon as I read the blurb – a girl, Annie, who’s mother is a murderer, Annie is the reason she is now in prison, Annie called the police. As Annie tries to build a new life as Milly, with a new family, she is haunted by her mother’s actions.
I couldn’t put this book down, it is so compelling and unnerving. Tension simmers below the surface and builds throughout the book until we reach the dramatic conclusion, I couldn’t help but think about the age old question of nature verses nurture as I read this – constantly wondering if Annie would be able to leave her mother behind or would she herself turn to darkness. A chilling read that I raced through and thoroughly enjoyed.

BOOKISH CORNER RATING – 5/5 STARS

 

THE AUTHOR:

After graduating from university with a degree in mental health, Ali Land spent a decade working as a Child and Adolescent Mental Health Nurse in hospitals and schools in the UK and Australia. Ali is now a full-time writer and lives in west London.

 

If you like ‘Good Me Bad Me’ then you should check out these:

‘Sometimes I Lie’ – Alice Feeney  (out 23rd March)
‘The Widow’ – Fiona Barton
‘Disclaimer’ – Renee Knight

 

With thanks to Ellie Hughes at Michael Joseph for my reading copy.

6 thoughts on “Review – ‘Good Me Bad Me’ by Ali Land

Leave a Reply

