Posts 2017 · Reviews

Review – ‘My Husband’s Wife’ by Amanda Prowse

20170225_121822

 

THE BOOK:

Once a week, Rosie Tipcott counts her blessings. She goes to sit on her favourite bench on the north Devon cliffs, and thanks her lucky stars for her wonderful husband, her mischievous young daughters, and her neat little house by the sea. She vows to dedicate every waking hour to making her family happy. But then her husband unexpectedly leaves her for another woman and takes the children. Now she must ask the question: what is left in her life? Can Rosie find the strength to rebuild herself? More importantly, does she even want to?

 

THE REVIEW:

When Rosie’s husband, Phil leaves out of the blue, her whole life is turned on its head. And the blow is it even harder when he takes their children with him.

I have to admit I did find aspects of this book predictable, however I still enjoyed it. The characters are well drawn and Amanda Prowse really does have a talent for writing human emotion. Rosie had my sympathy and my heart broke for her. She is put through the wringer and has to find the strength to fight on, I admire her for that. I wanted to sit with her on her bench, take in the stunning view and share ‘bench time’ with her.

Parts of this book hit a little close to home for me, and as much as we’re meant to hate Phil I couldn’t help but sympathise with him. He isn’t happy and makes a tough decision to change his life, sadly the fallout from this decision is devastating.

 
I found this a quick, enjoyable read. I couldn’t put it down and I easily chomped my way through, experiencing a full range of emotions as I read. This is my first read by Amanda Prowse and I will certainly be reading more.

 

BOOKISH CORNER RATING – 4/5 STARS

 

THE AUTHOR:

 
Amanda Prowse has always loved crafting and scribbling notes for potential books. Her first novel ‘Poppy Day was self-published in October 2011. Her novels ‘What Have I Done?’,’ Perfect Daughter’ and ‘My Husband’s Wife’ have been number one bestsellers. Amanda lives in Bristol with her husband and their two sons.

 

If you like ‘My Husband’s Wife’ you should check these out:

‘The Stranger In My Home’ by Adele Parks

‘The Cornish House’ by Liz Fenwick

‘The Accidental Husband’ by Jane Green

2 thoughts on “Review – ‘My Husband’s Wife’ by Amanda Prowse

Leave a Reply

