My Bookish Week · Posts 2017

My Bookish Week -20th February – 26th February

1488043275353

 

This week really has run away from me. It’s been a pretty hectic baby related week so I haven’t had much time for blogging or reading. Although I have managed to update most of my reviews to include a bookish corner rating and ‘if you like try these’ recommends. I’m hoping this will add a little extra to my reviews. This week I have been approved by Bookbridgr, which is an awesome blogging tool if you haven’t come across it. You can request heaps of review copies so I feel this could be dangerous for me and my to be read piles!

 

Book Post

A couple of really good reads have arrived for me this week. ‘Into The Water’ I had to start straight away and I’m very excited about ‘The Strange Disappearance of a Bollywood Star’ I adore Vaseem Khan’s series with chocolate loving baby elephant Ganesh.

20170226_125754

 

The Strange Disappearance of A Bollywood Star – Vaseem Khan

 
The enchanting new Baby Ganesh Agency novel sees Inspector Chopra and his elephant sidekick investigating the dark side of Bollywood. Mumbai thrives on extravagant spectacles and larger-than-life characters. But even in the city of dreams, there is no guarantee of a happy ending. Rising star and incorrigible playboy Vikram Verma has disappeared, leaving his latest film in jeopardy. Hired by Verma’s formidable mother to find him, Inspector Chopra and his sidekick, baby elephant Ganesha, embark on a journey deep into the world’s most flamboyant movie industry. As they uncover feuding stars, failed investments and death threats, it seems that many people have a motive for wanting Verma out of the picture. And yet, as Chopra has long suspected, in Bollywood the truth is often stranger than fiction…

 

Into The Water – Paula Hawkins 

A single mother turns up dead at the bottom of the river that runs through town. Earlier in the summer, a vulnerable teenage girl met the same fate. They are not the first women lost to these dark waters, but their deaths disturb the river and its history, dredging up secrets long submerged.
Left behind is a lonely fifteen-year-old girl. Parentless and friendless, she now finds herself in the care of her mother’s sister, a fearful stranger who has been dragged back to the place she deliberately ran from—a place to which she vowed she’d never return.

 
What I’ve Been Reading

 

20170226_125738
‘Into The Water’ by Paula Hawkins – Oh my…. this was so so good! I was worried that Paula Hawkins’ second book might struggle to live up to the juggernaut that was ‘The Girl on The Train’, but there is no doubt that her second novel is just as good. Maybe better….?? I was utterly gripped by this and I can’t wait to see the reaction when it hits the book shops in May. Full review to come.

‘My Husband’s Wife’ by Amanda Prowse – This was a quick and easy read for me. My first by Amanda Prowse and it won’t be my last, she has a talent for writing human emotion and this book makes you feel it all. My review is here Review – ‘My Husband’s Wife’ by Amanda Prowse

 
Current Read

9781509812264
‘Rattle’ by Fiona Cummins – I am half way through this and goodness it is giving me heebeejeebiees! Which I do not have a problem with at all – I like books that creep me out. I am glued to it and it kept me reading way past my bedtime last night!

 

Book Buys

20170226_125819

 

I had a nice little spend in my favourite place this week – Waterstones!

 
‘Happy Mum Happy Baby’ by Giovanna Fletcher – I love Giovanna Fletcher’s approach to life and motherhood, she’s real, honest and doesn’t try to be the perfect, preened celeb mum. I really looking forward to this!

 
‘The Caller’ by Chris Carter – Chris Carter is a writer that I always look forward to reading. His crime books are twisted, gruesome, gory and unputdownable. They are not for the faint of heart! But if you like your reads heavy on the gore and with genius methods of killing then Chris Carter is your man.

 
‘The Chilbury Ladies Choir’ by Jennifer Ryan – I read a proof of this in the summer and fell completely in love with it. Full of village scandal, drama, highs and lows – the Chilbury choir has a big place in my heart and even though I’d already read it, I had to buy it.

 
‘That’s Not My Lion…’ – Obviously not for me although I have been reading it! Leo loves these books, they are just the right size for him to hold and turn the pages. And once he’s figured out that the pages are touchy feely then I’m sure he’ll enjoy it even more

 
On The Blog This Week
Review – ‘My Husband’s Wife’ by Amanda Prowse
Review – ‘The Unseeing’ by Anna Mazzola
Review – ‘Good Me Bad Me’ by Ali Land

6 thoughts on “My Bookish Week -20th February – 26th February

  1. I have Into the Water on pre-order which I’m very excited about. Glad to hear you really enjoyed it! I didn’t care that much for The Girl on the Train, I mean I thought it was good but not that worthy of all the hype it gained.
    I’ve read Rattle, I thought it was OK, I hope you enjoy it!

  2. Oooh you’ve got some great-sounding books this week! I’m especially jealous of the Paula Hawkins – I’ve got that on pre-oder and can’t wait for it to be out. I hope it’s good. BookBridgr is a great resource, I was thrilled when I got accepted too. Hope you enjoy all your new books! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Into The Water. Girl on Train wasn’t my favorite so I’m curious to see if I’ll decide to give this a try. I’ll trust my fellow bloggers reviews for that one:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

