My Bookish Week · Posts 2017

My Bookish Week – 27th February – 5th March

1488043275353

 

I haven’t had much of a bookish week this week (sad face) bubba Leo is starting to teeth so all my attention has been trying to sooth him. Although we’ve been reading together so that’s always a good thing. My review pile is starting to tower and I’ve named it a second TBR – to be reviewed instead of to be read!

20170304_151620
This week saw World Book Day – cue cute baby-holding-book-photo! This is such a great day geared towards celebrated all things book and encouraging children to fall in love with reading and experience the never ending wondrous joy of a bookshop. As a bookseller there is something truly special about seeing children coming in to pick a book.

20170304_151658

 

What I’ve Been Reading

20170304_151556

 

‘Happy Mum Happy Baby’ by Giovanna Fletcher. I loved this – it made me laugh and cry and nod in agreement. It is a wonderful memoir of motherhood, the good, the bad and the messy! I am planning a review… at some point!

Since Giovanna and her husband Tom Fletcher have had their sons Buzz and Buddy, they have been sharing glimpses of their family life. With an infectiously positive outlook and happy take on all things mum-related, Giovanna has developed a following of fellow parents and mums-to-be. This is not a book about how to have the perfect family experience – Gi would be the first to admit she is winging it just as much as the rest of us – instead it is an honest, upbeat and incredibly personal account of her own experience of having a family.

 

‘The Riviera Express’ by T.P Fielden. This is a wonderful book – I love T.P Fielden’s style of writing and Judy Dimont is a very endearing character. Keep an eye out for my review.

Gerald Hennessey – silver screen star and much-loved heart-throb – never quite makes it to Temple Regis, the quaint Devonshire seaside town on the English Riviera. Murdered on the 4.30 from Paddington, the loss of this great man throws Temple Regis’ community into disarray. Not least Miss Judy Dimont -corkscrew-haired reporter for the local rag, The Riviera Express. Investigating Gerald’s death, she’s soon called to the scene of a second murder, and, setting off on her trusty moped, Herbert, finds Arthur Shrimsley in an apparent suicide on the clifftops above the town beach. Miss Dimont must prevail – for why was a man like Gerald coming to Temple Regis anyway? What is the connection between him and Arthur? And just how will she get any answers whilst under the watchful and mocking eyes of her infamously cantankerous Editor, Rudyard Rhys?

 

BOOK POST AND BOOKS BUYS

No book post this week (although I am expecting some) Also no book purchases – this is probably a good thing for both my book shelves and my ever growing to be read piles!

 

THIS WEEK ON THE BLOG

February Reads

This Time Last Year…

I have been slacking on the review front over the last few weeks so I haven’t posted any. I plan to rectify that over the next few days (fingers crossed).

One thought on “My Bookish Week – 27th February – 5th March

Leave a Reply

