Posts 2017 · Reviews

Review – ‘Rattle’ by Fiona Cummins

20170308_112900

 

THE BOOK:
A serial killer to chill your bones. A psychopath more frightening than Hannibal Lecter. He has planned well. He leads two lives. In one he’s just like anyone else. But in the other he is the caretaker of his family’s macabre museum. Now the time has come to add to his collection. He is ready to feed his obsession, and he is on the hunt. Jakey Frith and Clara Foyle have something in common. They have what he needs. What begins is a terrifying cat-and-mouse game between the sinister collector, Jakey’s father and Etta Fitzroy, a troubled detective investigating a spate of abductions.

 

THE REVIEW:

Oh my goodness – this book just chilled me to the bone. The thought of a thin faced man in a pin stripe suit just lurking unnoticed in broad daylight watching his victims just made me shiver, especially as the story progressed and we learnt just what his intentions were. I think ‘The Bone Collector’ is a bad guy who will linger in my mind for a long time. He has a fascination with deformed bones, a fascination that was nurtured by his father. And to build his collection he seeks out those with rare and unusual bone structures. At this point I have to admit that I found myself developing a morbid curiosity and did Google the oddities that are mentioned.

 

As with all good crime novels we have a troubled detective, running away from ghosts of the past by throwing themselves into work. Etta Fitzroy’s past tragedy really broke my heart and her obsession with finding missing Jakey and Clara is completely understandable. She is an endearing character and is probably up there with my favourite detectives. Erdman Frith’s son has been spotted by The Bone Collector and Erdman will stop at nothing to bring his boy home. Erdman really does live up to the mantel of underdog – everything in his life is going to hell, and he becomes Etta’s unlikely ally in the hunt for The Bone Collector. This book really did epitomise the ‘cat-and-mouse’ chase, I found myself on the edge of my seat as Etta and Erdman got closer and closer to their quarry.
This is a dark, creepy, fast-paced thriller. I couldn’t put it down. My one quibble is that I wasn’t completely satisfied with the ending, but I will certainly be reading Fiona Cummins next book. I just hope she’s a quick writer!

 

BOOKISH CORNER RATING – 5/5 STARS

 

If you liked ‘Rattle’ then you should try:
The Crucifix Killer – Chris Carter
Red Dragon – Thomas Harris
Ragdoll – Daniel Cole
The Devil’s Workshop – Alex Grecian

 

THE AUTHOR:
Fiona Cummins is an award-winning former Daily Mirror show business journalist and a graduate of the Faber Academy Writing a Novel course. She lives in Essex with her family. ‘Rattle’ is her first novel.

‘Rattle’ is out now in hardback. With thanks to the team at PanMac News for my copy

One thought on “Review – ‘Rattle’ by Fiona Cummins

Leave a Reply

