Posts 2017 · This time last year....

This Time Last Year…

I wasn’t going to do another one of these posts until next week but when I saw what I was reading this time two years ago I had to write one. This time two years ago I was reading the amazing ‘Reasons To Stay Alive’ by Matt Haig – this book is so important and it’s one I feel everyone should read which is why I wanted to post this. And this time last year I was reading ‘The Invitation’ by Lucy Foley, a lot lighter than ‘Reasons To Stay Alive’ and highly enjoyable.

 

March 2016 – ‘The Invitation’ by Lucy Foley

9780007575398

One fateful night, Hal Jacobs meets Stella, a beautiful society darling from New York. To Hal, flailing in the post-war darkness, she’s a point of light. They’re from different worlds, but both trying and failing to carve out a new life. Stella vanishes all too quickly, until a curious invitation from an Italian Contessa reels her back into Hal’s world. They join the Contessa’s collection of luminaries on a yacht headed for Cannes film festival. The scene on board is a fiction – scars from the war can be hidden yet not healed. Everyone is hiding a dark history, but Stella’s secrets run the deepest. Compelled by her fragile beauty, Hal is determined to bring back the girl she once was, the girl who’s been confined to history.

MY REVIEW:

It’s 1950’s Italy and many people are scarred, trying to re-build their lives after World War Two. A chance invitation turns journalist, Hal Jacobs, life upside down and he ends up aboard a yacht on a promotional tour of a new Italian film, heading for Cannes.

Lucy Foley paints a picturesque image of Italian coast and it made me want to hop on a yacht and take the same journey. But beneath the glamour and cocktails, each party member is hiding their own tragedy and pain. This makes for an intriguing read, as their boat tour progresses their stories are revealed and I found myself struggling to put this down. A great read for summer.

 
BOOKISH CORNER RATING – 4/5 STARS

 

MARCH 2015 – ‘Reasons To Stay Alive’ by Matt Haig

 

9781782115083

Aged 24, Matt Haig’s world caved in. He could see no way to go on living. This is the true story of how he came through crisis, triumphed over an illness that almost destroyed him and learned to live again. A moving, funny and joyous exploration of how to live better, love better and feel more alive, Reasons to Stay Alive is more than a memoir. It is a book about making the most of your time on earth. “I wrote this book because the oldest cliches remain the truest. Time heals. The bottom of the valley never provides the clearest view. The tunnel does have light at the end of it, even if we haven’t been able to see it …Words, just sometimes, really can set you free.”

MY REVIEW:

Quite simply, everyone needs to read this book. If you have ever suffered, know someone who has suffered or currently suffering with depression or just want to understand this illness a little more, read this!! I can’t really convey in words how strongly and passionately I feel about this amazing book.

Inspiring, outstanding, hopeful and brutally truthful, this will open your eyes and mind about an illness that is so often hidden and not considered an ‘illness’ because it isn’t visible. Everyone will be effected by depression at some point in their lives, whether it’s themselves suffering or someone they know. That is why this book is so important.

I could not put this book down and it will be a book I know I will return to many, many times. Within it’s pages I found a friend and I thank Matt Haig from the bottom of my heart for writing this book. Sharing his illness and battle, with the world will hopefully encourage others to follow suit. I whole heartedly believe it will save lives. I’ll finish this review how I started it – this is the most important book you will ever read and everyone needs to read it.

 
BOOKISH CORNER RATING – 5/5 STARS

One thought on “This Time Last Year…

Leave a Reply

