My Bookish Week · Posts 2017

My Bookish Week – 13th March – 19th March

1488043275353

 

This week I have been floored by a cold – urgh is there anything more annoying in the world?! And of course because I’ve been ill, the tiny one has been ill too. So needless to say I have had very little energy for anything this week! But I’m happy to report that despite the fact I’ve pretty much just worn pyjamas all week, I did still manage to shower every day and get a little reading done – go me!

 

WHAT I’VE BEEN READING:

20170319_144524

 

HIDDEN CHAPTERS by Mary Grand – Sadly I struggled with this one. It’s a family drama set in Wales and whilst there are some stunning descriptions of Wales, I just couldn’t get on with the some of the writing. Particularly the dialogue between characters which to me felt a bit stilted and forced. I have written a full review, I’ll post it soon!

 

ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE by Gail Honeyman – Oh how I loved this book! Eleanor is a wonderful character, the book is narrated by her and her view of the world is hilarious. This is a powerful book on the subject of mental illness and while it could have been a tough read, Gail Honeyman has managed to create something that’s amusing, heart warming and unique. This is a strong contender for my book of the year – yes even though it’s March. That’s how much I loved it!! Keep an eye out for it when it’s released in May. A full review to come.

 

BOOK POST:

 

20170319_151056

After a couple of weeks without book post I finally had some treats this week! ‘The Good Daughter’by Karin Slaughter, one of my favourite crime authors and I get excited by every new Slaughter novel! And ‘Two Cousins of Azov’ by Andrea Bennett, I adored Andrea’s first book ‘Galina Petrovna’s Three-Legged Dog Story’ it deserved waaaay more attention than it got. If you want something that will literally make you chortle aloud then this is the book for you! So I am looking forward to ‘Two Cousins of Azov’ a lot.

 

THE GOOD DAUGHTER by Karin Slaughter – Two girls are forced into the woods at gunpoint. One runs for her life. One is left behind.Twenty-eight years ago, Charlotte and Samantha Quinn’s happy smalltown family life was torn apart by a terrifying attack on their family home. It left their mother dead. It left their father – Pikeville’s notorious defence attorney – devastated. And it left the family fractured beyond repair, consumed by secrets from that terrible night. Twenty-eight years later, and Charlie has followed in her father’s footsteps to become a lawyer herself – the archetypal good daughter. But when violence comes to Pikeville again – and a shocking tragedy leaves the whole town traumatised – Charlie is plunged into a nightmare. Not only is she the first witness on the scene, but it’s a case which can’t help triggering the terrible memories she’s spent so long trying to suppress. Because the shocking truth about the crime which destroyed her family nearly thirty years ago won’t stay buried for ever…

 

TWO COUSINS OF AZOV by Andrea Bennett – Gor is keeping busy. He has a magic show to rehearse, his new assistant to get in line and a dacha in dire need of weeding. But he keeps being distracted by a tapping on his window – four floors up. Is old age finally catching up with him? Tolya has woken from a long illness to find his memory gone. Tidied away in a sanatorium, with only the view of a pine tree for entertainment, he is delighted when young doctor Vlad decides to make a project of him. With a keen listener by his side, and the aid of smuggled home-made sugary delights, Tolya’s boyhood memories return, revealing dark secrets

 

CURRENT READ:

9781473612334

 

THE STRANGE DISAPPEARANCE OF A BOLLYWOOD STAR by Vaseem Khan –  Mumbai thrives on extravagant spectacles and larger-than-life characters. But even in the city of dreams, there is no guarantee of a happy ending. Rising star and incorrigible playboy Vikram Verma has disappeared, leaving his latest film in jeopardy. Hired by Verma’s formidable mother to find him, Inspector Chopra and his sidekick, baby elephant Ganesha, embark on a journey deep into the world’s most flamboyant movie industry. As they uncover feuding stars, failed investments and death threats, it seems that many people have a motive for wanting Verma out of the picture. And yet, as Chopra has long suspected, in Bollywood the truth is often stranger than fiction…

This is the third Baby Ganesh Agency Investigation book, I’m only 50 or so pages in but I am loving it! I am a huge fan of Vaseem Khan, his books are just delightful and feature a chocolate loving baby elephant.

 

ON THE BLOG THIS WEEK:

Well there’s been nothing! I have got a couple of reviews ready for posting, hoping to get to that in the next few days. In the mean time please please check out this post by fellow blogger Jo at My Chestnut Reading Tree A Typical Day In The Life Of A Blogger it sums up blogging life to a tee. And Jo – you have inspired me to try and be a bit more organised with all things blog! And there is no way you look old enough to be a Nana!

6 thoughts on “My Bookish Week – 13th March – 19th March

  1. Hope you’re all back to full speed soon! A cold can totally wreck your days for anything productive. I am a huge Karin Slaughter fan myself. I will have to watch fir this new one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

