Posts 2017

Horror Movie Book Tag

horror-movie-book-tag

 

Thanks to Nat at The Owl On The Bookshelf for the tag. This really made me think about my answers and it was fun to re-visit some previous reads. Make sure you visit Nat and her owl The Owl On The Bookshelf for fab reviews and subscription box unboxings (which I love seeing)

 

Here are the rules:

  1. Please credit Princess Royal Reader (or just Royal Reader), as the creator of this tag, and add the rules
  2. You can use the graphics provided in your post, or you’re welcome to make your own!
  3. Thank the person(s) who tagged you and let others know of their fabulous blogs
  4. Tag as many people as you want, be it 1 or 20, it’s entirely up to you!

 

 

THE ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE: A BOOK YOU WOULD SAVE WHEN CIVILISATION ENDS?

‘Murder In Mesopotamia’ by Agatha Christie. Agatha Christie is my comfort blanket author – I always know I’m going to enjoy a Christie book and I always turn to them if I need cheering up or if I need to break a reading slump. Life is better with a Christie in hand. I’d happily save all of them but ‘Murder In Mesopotamia’ is a favourite that I’ve re-visited a lot.

THE VAMPIRE: A BOOK YOU WOULD STAKE THROUGH THE HEART?

‘The Rose Of Tibet’ by Lionel Davidson – One of the worst books I have ever read. Awful awful awful. It was written in 60’s and the author’s attitude towards females are very much of that period. I struggled with many many aspects of this book and I would quite happily ‘stake’ this book over and over again! It probably didn’t help that I was suffering with morning sickness at the time of reading!

THE HAUNTED HOUSE: A BOOK THAT STILL HAUNTS YOU?

‘The Danish Girl’ by David Ebershoff. This book haunts me for all the good reasons! This book is emotional, heart breaking, full of hope and I still think about the characters. It’s a book that I just want to hug to my chest and then sigh a little, it was beautiful.

THE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER: A BOOK WITH A TWIST YOU DID NOT SEE COMING?

For me I think this has to be ‘Disclaimer’ by Renee Knight. I had to re-read the pages with the twist to make sure I hadn’t mis-read something! It’s quite rare that a book can really truely surprise me with a twist and this was one.

THE CREEPY DOLL: A BOOK THAT SEEMS INNOCENT BUT ISN’T?

I think for this one I have to say ‘The Improbability of Love’ by Hannah Rothschild. One of my top reads of 2016. The cover and title lead you to believe you’re about to read another ‘fluffy’, easy, romance book. But what you get is not that at all! It’s funny, it’s clever, there are great characters, dastardly fiends and schemes, a fantastic plot, a splash of history and edge of your seat drama – it’s a book that has it all.

THE MONSTER: A BOOK YOU COULD BARELY TACKLE/DEFEAT?

‘Atomised’ by Michel Houellebecq. This was a book that I attempted to read for a book group, I had to give up. I very rarely give up on a book but I just couldn’t get on with the writing or the subject matter. I think I only managed about 50 pages, but from the views in the book group it didn’t sound like I missed anything.

THE COMEDY-HORROR: A BOOK WITH MIXED GENRES THAT WORKED (OR DIDN’T)?

‘Behind Her Eyes’ by Sarah Pinborough. I have to be careful here because I don’t want to spoil the ending for anyone who hasn’t read it. What by all appearances looks to be a psychological thriller turns into something very different by the end and for me this just didn’t work.

THE (CLICHED) TEEN HORROR: A BOOK YOU FOUND SUPER CLICHED/STEREOTYPICAL?

‘Red Queen’ by Victoria Aveyard. I felt this book was just a re-hash of themes I’ve read before and all the twists I predicted. I only read to the end because I was teased with a big explosive plot twist but I felt even that let me down. I know it has a lot of fans but for me I just didn’t enjoy it.

THE DEMONIC POSSESSION: A BOOK SO GRIPPING YOU NEEDED AN EXORCIST TO ESCAPE IT?

‘Strange The Dreamer’ by Laini Taylor. I love Laini Taylor’s writing, she has an wonderful talent for making everyday words beautiful. Her imagination is something to marvel at, the worlds she creates are stunning. I happily took my time reading this and was pretty bereft when I finished it.

THE SCIENCE FICTION: A PRECIOUS BOOK YOU WOULD PERMANENTLY SACRIFICE TO ALIENS FOR THE GOOD OF MANKIND?

This has to be ‘The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry’ by Rachel Joyce – one of my absolute favourite books. The writing is beautiful, it’s full of emotion and it’s one of those books that truly illustrate what it is to be human. I love it with all my heart.

 

I nominate: everyone who fancies this tag!

3 thoughts on “Horror Movie Book Tag

Leave a Reply

