My Bookish Week · Posts 2017

My Bookish Week – 27th March – 2nd April

1488043275353

 

It’s not been a great week for reading this week, we’ve had couple of bad nights with the baby so whenever he’s been asleep I’ve ended up asleep! Usually I use baby naps to catch up on reading but that hasn’t happened this week. Speaking of baby Leo, he turned 6 months old on Tuesday. Where those six months have gone I do not know – it’s been a haze of feeding, nappy changing and sleep deprivation. Anyway on to the books!

 

BOOK POST

IMG_20170328_155114_395
They All Fall Down – Tammy Cohen
She knows there’s a killer on the loose. But no-one believes her. Will she be next? Hannah had a normal life – a loving husband, a good job. Until she did something shocking. Now she’s in a psychiatric clinic. It should be a safe place. But patients keep dying. The doctors say it’s suicide. Hannah knows they’re lying. Can she make anyone believe her before the killer strikes again?

 

Dead Woman Walking – Sharon Bolton
Just before dawn in the hills near the Scottish border, a man murders a young woman. At the same time, a hot-air balloon crashes out of the sky. There’s just one survivor. She’s seen the killer’s face – but he’s also seen hers. And he won’t rest until he’s eliminated the only witness to his crime. Alone, scared, trusting no one, she’s running to where she feels safe – but it could be the most dangerous place of all…

 

BOOK BUYS

 

20170402_122653

 

A couple of little treats for myself this week:

‘The Other Mrs Walker’ by Mary Paulson-Ellis – I’ve heard loads of great stuff about this book. The tag line is “A detective story with no detective” and that immediately piqued my interest. Plus the cover is gorgeous!

‘Murder On The Links’ by Agatha Christie – This was one I picked up in a charity shop, I already have a copy but I couldn’t resist the morbid cover.

‘Strange the Dreamer’ by Laini Taylor – I’ve already read and reviewed this book and have a lovely advanced copy, but the finished copy is just stunning! I adored this book and felt it was one I had to have on my shelf. It’s stunning from every angle and I have been stroking it 😀

IMG_-ft9xas

 

CURRENT READ

 

9780712356732

 

As I’ve already said there’s not been much reading going on for me this week but when I’ve had the chance I’ve been enjoying the latest British Library Crime Classic – ‘Miraculous Mysteries’. This is a superb anthology of locked room mysteries and impossible crimes – I am thoroughly enjoying it. Keep an eye out for my review!

 

ON THE BLOG

Clearing the Shelves – ‘The Harvest Man’ by Alex Grecian

Review – ‘Hidden Chapters’ by Mary Grand

March Reads

 

That’s all for this week, you can follow me on FacebookTwitter and Instagram. Hope you all enjoy a bookish week!

2 thoughts on “My Bookish Week – 27th March – 2nd April

Leave a Reply

