Posts 2017 · Reviews

Review – ‘Into The Water’ by Paula Hawkins

33148474

 

THE BOOK:
A single mother turns up dead at the bottom of the river that runs through town. Earlier in the summer, a vulnerable teenage girl met the same fate. They are not the first women lost to these dark waters, but their deaths disturb the river and its history, dredging up secrets long submerged.
Left behind is a lonely fifteen-year-old girl. Parentless and friendless, she now finds herself in the care of her mother’s sister, a fearful stranger who has been dragged back to the place she deliberately ran from—a place to which she vowed she’d never return.

 

THE REVIEW:
I eared on the side of caution when I started reading ‘Into The Water’, after the juggernaut that was ‘The Girl On The Train’, Paula Hawkins faced what I’m sure must have been the ginormous task of bringing us a second novel. I was dubious as to whether ‘Into The Water’ would be able to live up to it predecessor… I needn’t have worried, it does!

 
To say I was gripped is an understatement… I mean I was GRIPPED! Like ignore the baby gripped (not really ’cause a baby is hard to ignore but you get the picture!)

 

We are thrown straight into the action with the death of Nell Abbott, she’s found in the aptly named Drowning Pool, in the town of Beckford. It quickly becomes clear that the history of the Drowning Pool is dubious, suspicious drownings going back centuries. It feels like you hit the ground running with ‘Into The Water’ and I have to say I enjoyed that, everything is a mystery to the reader but as we go along all the pieces start to come together. I can’t really say too much about the plot for fear of giving something away. All the residents of Beckford have secrets and each chapter scratches away until we get the truth.

 

I did have a slight issue with the book and that was that there just seemed to be too many characters. Each chapter is from a different character’s point of view which normally isn’t a problem for me but with ten plus views I did get a little confused and have to flick back now and again to remind myself. But don’t get me wrong, this small complaint didn’t stop me enjoying this book at all.

 
Gripping, twisty, sinister, a book I found myself immersed in and with an ending that made me go ‘oooooooh’. Paula Hawkins second novel is a superb read and in my opinion can match up to ‘The Girl On The Train’ easily.

 

BOOKISH CORNER RATING – 5/5 STARS

 

20170331_113848

 

THE AUTHOR:
Paula Hawkins worked as a journalist for fifteen years before turning her hand to fiction. Born and brought up in Zimbabwe, Paula moved to London in 1989 an dhas lived there ever since. Her first thriller ‘Girl On The Train’ has been a global phenomenon, selling close to 20 million copies worldwide. ‘Into The Water’ is her second stand-alone thriller

 

If you like ‘Into The Water’, then try these – 
The Girl In Cabin 10 – Ruth Ware
Good Me Bad Me – Ali Land
Sometimes I Lie – Alice Feeney

 

Into The Water is out on the 2nd May 2017. With big thanks to Alison Barrow at Transworld Books for my copy

10 thoughts on “Review – ‘Into The Water’ by Paula Hawkins

  1. I cannot imagine the pressure that writers are under when their debut novel is a bestseller. Writing he second novel must be a daunting task! It is wonderful when they are successful. I recently read a book that falls into this scenario. “I see you” by Clare Mackintosh. It was just as wonderful as her debut novel “I let you go”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

