My Bookish Week · Posts 2017

My Bookish Week – 3rd April – 9th April

1488043275353
This week has been a pretty successful bookish week, I’ve managed to get through two books and I am happy to report I am completely up to date with my reviews! This never happens, ever, usually I have a back log of at least three to do so I am basking in this small achievement! They will be appearing on the blog over the next couple of weeks.

 

BOOK POST

20170409_170156

The Himalayan Summer – Louise Brown I fell in love with Louise’s first novel ‘Eden Gardens’, it is perfect if you’ve enjoyed books by Dinah Jefferies. I hope this one will enchant me just as much.

Ellie Jeffreys arrives in Darjeeling with her British husband, en route to Kathmandu. They have ten-month-old, golden-haired twins, and despite appearing to be a happy family, Ellie’s relationship with the overbearing, philandering Francis is disintegrating. At a cocktail party, Ellie meets Hugh Douglas, a maverick explorer and botanist. Despite the rumours surrounding Hugh, Ellie is drawn to him. A year later, Nepal is devastated by a catastrophic earthquake and in a falling building, Ellie is forced to make an instant, and terrible, decision: she has time to save only one of her children. When she returns for her son’s body the next day, it has gone. Ellie knows he cannot have disappeared; someone, somewhere has her child, and it is to Hugh that she turns for help.

 

WHAT I’VE BEEN READING

20170409_170218
‘The Breakdown’ by BA Paris – I couldn’t put this down, I tore through it! Another gripping psychological thriller from BA Paris, I did have my suspicions as to what was going on but that didn’t take away from my enjoyment. Review to come.

It all started that night in the woods. Cass Anderson didn’t stop to help the woman in the car, and now she’s dead. Ever since, silent calls have been plaguing Cass and she’s sure someone is watching her. Consumed by guilt, she’s also starting to forget things. Whether she took her pills, what her house alarm code is – and if the knife in the kitchen really had blood on it.

 
‘The White Road’ by Sarah Lotz – Sarah Lotz is the queen of creating atmosphere and tension, ‘The White Road’ left me feeling deeply unnerved and unsettled. Review to come.

Adrenaline-junky Simon Newman sneaks onto private land to explore a dangerous cave in Wales with a strange man he’s met online. But Simon gets more than he bargained for when the expedition goes horribly wrong. Simon emerges, the only survivor, after a rainstorm trap the two in the cave. Simon thinks he’s had a lucky escape. But his video of his near-death experience has just gone viral. Suddenly Simon finds himself more famous than he could ever have imagined. Now he’s faced with an impossible task: he’s got to defy death once again, and film the entire thing. The whole world will be watching. There’s only on place on earth for him to pit himself against the elements: Mt Everest, the tallest mountain in the world. But Everest is also one of the deadliest spots on the planet. Two hundred and eighty people have died trying to reach its peak. And Simon’s luck is about to run out.

 
CURRENT READ

9781408857885

 
‘A Court of Mist And Fury’ by Sarah J Maas – The second in ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ trilogy, I’ve had this on my shelf for ages because I knew I would read it and become super impatient for book three. Well book three (‘A Court of Wings and Ruin’) is out in May so I thought it was about time I dived in. Plus I’ve had it over six months so I can use it for my Clearing The Shelves theme!

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court – but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people. Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms – and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future – and the future of a world cleaved in two

ON THE BLOG THIS WEEK

 
Review – ‘Into The Water’ by Paula Hawkins
Review – ‘Miraculous Mysteries’ edited by Martin Edwards

 

Don’t forget to follow me in all the usual places –

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

2 thoughts on “My Bookish Week – 3rd April – 9th April

Leave a Reply

