My Bookish Week · Posts 2017

My Bookish Week – 10th April – 16th April

1488043275353

 

Not too many bookish things to report this week, no book post and no book buys. Which are two good things for my groaning book shelves, I’m sure I’m going to put one book too many on them soon and they’ll just collapse. I feel like I’m playing a game of Buckaroo every time I place a book on there! This post is more a look at what I’ve been reading this week, as no other bookish things have happened.

 

WHAT I’VE BEEN READING

 

20170417_142934

 
A Court Of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas. The second book in the ‘A Court Of Thorns and Roses’ trilogy, so I can’t say toooooo much in fear of spoiling the first book for anyone wanting to read it. Our heroine Feyre is kick ass and in Mist And Fury we see her learning to control her Fae powers. Sarah J Maas has created a wonderful magical world and these books are great escapism. They are technically aimed at Young Adults however, they are very explicit. The saucy scenes are intense and certainly not for younger eyes! But they are a bit of fun for the adults! The third instalment is out in May and I cannot wait, Mist and Fury had such a good ending.

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court – but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people. Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms – and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future – and the future of a world cleaved in two.

Two Cousins of Azov by Andrea Bennett. I adored Andrea Bennett’s first novel ‘Galina Petrovna’s Three-Legged Dog Story’ and I was looking forward to this one. It’s a story of facing up to past mistakes and although it’s quite dark in places, I still laughed a lot with this tale. There are some great characters in this book and Andrea Bennett paints a wonderful picture of 90’s Russia. If you want a read to make you laugh then you should seek her two books out.

Gor is keeping busy. He has a magic show to rehearse, his new assistant to get in line and a dacha in dire need of weeding. But he keeps being distracted by a tapping on his window – four floors up. Is old age finally catching up with him? Tolya has woken from a long illness to find his memory gone. Tidied away in a sanatorium, with only the view of a pine tree for entertainment, he is delighted when young doctor Vlad decides to make a project of him. With a keen listener by his side, and the aid of smuggled home-made sugary delights, Tolya’s boyhood memories return, revealing dark secrets

Three Act Tragedy by Agatha Christie. I have a little Easter reading tradition – I always read an Agatha Christie over the Easter bank holiday and this time I went for ‘Three Act Tragedy’. Although this is a Poirot mystery, our Belgian detective doesn’t really have an active role. He sits back and the three main characters go about sleuthing and reporting back to him and of course, he solves the case using their discoveries. Not my favourite Christie, but still enjoyable with a chocolate egg.

At an apparently respectable dinner party, a vicar is the first to die…Thirteen guests arrived at dinner at the actor’s house. It was to be a particularly unlucky evening for the mild-mannered Reverend Stephen Babbington, who choked on his cocktail, went into convulsions and died. But when his martini glass was sent for chemical analysis, there was no trace of poison – just as Poirot had predicted. Even more troubling for the great detective, there was absolutely no motive…

CURRENT READ

I haven’t actually started a new read yet. I am in that happy place where I have all the books to pick from. I am leaning towards either ‘The People at Number 9’ by Felicity Everett or ‘Where Wild Cherries Grow’ by Laura Madeleine. I am open to recommends!

 
ON THE BLOG

Book Candles!

Review – ‘The Strange Disappearance Of A Bollywood Star’ by Vaseem Khan

Leave a Reply

