Posts 2017 · Reviews

Review – ‘The Breakdown’ by BA Paris

9781848454996

 

THE BOOK

If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust? It all started that night in the woods. Cass Anderson didn’t stop to help the woman in the car, and now she’s dead. Ever since, silent calls have been plaguing Cass and she’s sure someone is watching her. Consumed by guilt, she’s also starting to forget things. Whether she took her pills, what her house alarm code is – and if the knife in the kitchen really had blood on it.

 

THE REVIEW

I literally could not put this down. I tore through it in record time just to find out if my suspicions were correct! (They were!) I don’t want to reveal too much of the book so my review is short and sweet.

You can’t help but deeply feel for Cass with her memory problems and fears of following in her mother’s footsteps and falling prey to dementia. I felt a little bit like I was losing my mind right alongside her, the panic she feels, the confusion, the hopelessness are all things that B.A Paris makes us readers feel. ‘The Breakdown’ shows how just a spilt second decision can affect your whole life and turn it upside down. In the case of Cass, it was her route home.

As I’ve already said I did have my suspicions about what was going on, but that didn’t take away any enjoyment for me. I was just glued to this book. And the ending! Oh that bloody marvellous ending – I was cheering! Crime thriller fans will love this book.

 
BOOKISH CORNER RATING 4/5 STARS

 

 

THE AUTHOR

B A Paris grew up in England but has spent most of her adult life in France. She has worked both in finance and as a teacher and has five daughters. ‘Behind Closed Doors’ was her first novel.

 

If you enjoyed ‘The Breakdown’ then try:

‘Behind Closed Doors’ BA Paris
‘Sometimes I Lie’ Alice Feeney
‘Before I Go To Sleep’ SJ Watson
‘Into The Water’ Paula Hawkins (out in May)

 

20170410_115146

 

With thanks to the team at Harper Insider for my copy. ‘The Breakdown’ is out now in paperback published by HQ Stories.

5 thoughts on “Review – ‘The Breakdown’ by BA Paris

Leave a Reply

