Posts 2017

Top 10 Tuesday – Things That Make Me Instantly Want/Not Want To Read A Book

It’s a day late… sorry! Top 10 Tuesday is created by The Broke and The Bookish here’s a handy link Top 10 Tuesday. It’s a weekly meme and this is the first time I’ve jumped on board – exciting times. I’ve stolen the idea of doing five things that make me instantly want to read a book and five things that instantly make me not want to read a book from the lovely Zuky, (here’s another handy link, her blog is fantastic – Book Bum) for the same reason as her, I couldn’t think of ten things for each!

 

FIVE THINGS THAT MAKE ME INSTANTLY WANT TO READ A BOOK

 

1. If the setting is exotic and the time period historical.

I find these types of books great escapism, especially if they are well written – I like to feel the sun on my face and smell the tropical scents. I find these books are particularly good for dreary English weather! And they always have delicious looking covers.

 

 

2. If the plot involves a mental hospital, particularly if it is in the Victorian era.

I have a weird thing about historical mental hospitals, I find them absolutely fascinating! The shocking treatment of the patients, especially female patients is a theme I can’t get enough of. I love a plot that involves a wrongfully incarcerated character and if I see that in a blurb I pick it up straight away.

 

 

3. Amateur sleuths! I love an amateur sleuth! This stems right back to my child hood when I wanted to be a detective. Mysteries are my go-to books when I need something to read that I know I will enjoy.

 

4. If its written by Karin Slaughter.

I don’t even read the blurbs of Karin Slaughter books anymore! If I see a new one, I snatch it up. Even after a lengthy crime series she keeps her books fresh and gripping. I’ve read so many crime series’ that go stale after book 6 or 7, but Karin Slaughter has smashed that trend for me.

 

5. GORE! The sicker the better. I get a morbid enjoyment from crime books that are particularly gory and twisted. The idea of what humans can do to another humans fascinates me. I would love to see into the minds of writers that create such horrific pleasures!

 

FIVE THINGS THAT INSTANTLY MAKE ME NOT WANT TO READ A BOOK

 

1. Being ‘forced’ to read something.

I don’t like people telling me what to read (although I do love a recommendation) – this must be some kind of rebellion thing from books we had to read for school! In my lovely bookseller job we are, let’s say, encouraged, to read certain books. I hate this. It instantly puts me off the book, it’s someone sitting in an office that doesn’t realise that book lovers are a varied bunch, what works for one will not always work for another. One of the worst books I ever read was as a result of this so it does cause me to be cautious.

 

2. Books set in Ireland. I do not know where this has come from! I’ve never been to Ireland, I’m sure it’s lovely. But as soon as I see a book that’s set there, it goes straight back down again!

 

3. Long blurbs!

Urgh…. blurbs do not need to be longer than two paragraphs, maximum. And even that sometimes is too long. Blurbs are there to tease and entice you to a book, not make you yawn with boredom before you’ve even read it!

 

4. Movie or TV tie in covers.

I hate this. With a passion.

 

5. Over-hype. Don’t get me wrong I loved ‘Girl on The Train’ BUT I read it months before all the crazy hype began…. I possibly wouldn’t have picked it up after all the hype. Enthusiasm and hype are all well and good, let’s face it, that’s what us bloggers do really. But there is a line, sometimes there can be just too much.

 

Do you agree? Disagree? What puts you off a book? Or what makes you want to instantly grab it?

24 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – Things That Make Me Instantly Want/Not Want To Read A Book

  1. Fantastic post Emma! I agree with some of your points for definite. I’m really into mental hosptial books too, this may stem from having a schizophrenic nan and knowing the ordeals she went through in the 60’s and 70’s in these sorts of places (no where near as bad as Victorian era but still pretty brutal!) and then I’m all for a gore books too! The darker the better in my eyes lol 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your final point amuses me because I am never put off by hype, but I know SO many people that are. To me, if there is loads of hype and I want to read to see if I agree with it. Out of curiosity what does the hype make you think – why does it make you think it isn’t worth reading?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aaaahhh asylums was the word I was looking for when I wrote the post…. it just eluded me for some reason! 😂 Inconvienent People is a fascinating read, easy to forget it’s non-fiction. And yes I will admit the Ireland thing is just bizarre – I can’t explain it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Long blurbs annoy me too, and I’m sure they’re getting longer! Sometimes I find myself cutting whole paragraphs from them when I’m doing my TBR posts. And yes, hype puts me off books too… sometimes I hear so much about a book, I feel there’s nothing left for me to find out by reading it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ha ha – great post! I also hate movie tie ins, but I think that the most off putting thing for me is books written in dialect – I’ve tried and failed to read Trainspotting several times for this reason. It’s a personal thing, and possibly because I can’t get my tongue around a particular word, but I hate it with a passion!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. None of the things that make you want to read a book make me want to read a book, but we’re spot on with all five things that make you not want to read a book. Even the Irish thing, which I can’t figure out for me either, and I’m Irish on my father’s side.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Soo agree with the movie anything on a book cover, it’s so off putting!! I just read Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter and boy was that a wild ride so I totally understand why you don’t even have to read the descriptions; I’m intrigued by more of her writing already!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

