Posts 2017

The Greek Gods Book Tag

greek-gods-tag1

 

With thanks to the book tag queen Zuky at Book Bum for tagging me. And also Steff at Little Booky Nook Site for tagging me. I’ve FINALLY got round to doing it! You should check out both of these ladies’ blogs – I love them. Lots of book tagging, lots of reviews and lots of fun!

 

The Rules from Zuky Book Bum:

Pingback to me here Book Bum so I can read all your posts!!

You can use my graphics if ya like, but you don’t have to if you don’t want to

Tag as many people as you want, but please, share the love.

 

Here are my answers!

 

ZEUS: KING OF THE GODS – YOUR FAVOURITE BOOK

9781407154169

There are so many but for this post I’m going to pick ‘Northern Lights’ by Philip Pullman. Mainly because I am super giddy with excitement for ‘The Book of Dust’ to come out in October! This is a book that I re-read every couple of years. Lyra is one of my all time favourite fictional characters and her world is a wonderfully magical place to visit over and over again.

 

HERA: QUEEN OF THE GODS – A BADASS FEMALE CHARACTER

9781444722659

 

This has to be Karou from the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor. She has blue hair, an angel lover, was brought up by chimera and kicks ass! I adore Laini Taylor’s writing and the stunning worlds she creates, she manages to turn the English language into a thing of beauty.

 

JANUS: GOD OF BEGINNINGS – YOUR FAVOURITE DEBUT(S)

9780008132170

 

‘The Trouble With Goats and Sheep’ by Joanna Cannon. It was my top read of 2016 and I recommend it to anyone who will listen! It’s a story of two young girls trying to solve the mystery of their missing neighbour during the heat wave of 1976. It’s beautifully written and I love Grace and Tilly with all my heart.

9780008172114

‘Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine’ by Gail Honeyman. This is set to be my top read of 2017! Eleanor Oliphant is a superb creation, this book made me laugh, cringe and cry. It’s a powerful book about mental health and it’s one I want everyone to read.

 

ATHENA: GODDESS OF WISDOM – YOUR FAVOURITE NON-FICTION BOOK

9780007248896

 

‘The Invention Of Murder’ by Judith Flanders. I love a spot of Victorian crime so this was a book written for me. It’s absolutely fascinating and it’s easy to forget that the events are true life events. I read it a few years ago, but I frequently return to it and re-read passages if they relate to something I’m reading or watching.

 

APHRODITE: GODDESS OF LOVE – A BOOK YOU ADORE AND RECOMMEND EVERYONE READ (OTHER THAN YOUR FAVOURITE BOOK!)

9780552778091

 

‘The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry’ by Rachel Joyce. Such a beautifully written book and a book that gave me all the feels. It’s the story of a man who sets out to see a dying friend, but he walks the length of England to do it with no planning whatsoever. A book that has a place in my heart forever and one I buy for everybody.

9780552779128

‘The Kitchen House’ by Kathleen Grissom. This is one of my favourite underrated books, it’s one I mention a lot. If you like ‘The Help’ then this will be right up your street. The tale of a white orphan girl who finds herself working in the kitchen of a plantation in Virginia. It’s evocative, poignant and I couldn’t put it down.

 

HADES: GOD OF THE UNDERWORLD – AN EVIL BOOK YOU WISH DIDN’T EXIST

9780571326822

‘The Rose of Tibet’ by Lionel Davidson. Oh I hated this book. It was dull, dated and clearly written by a man who views women as sex objects. Gah… kill it – burn it with fire!

 

POSEIDON: GOD OF THE SEA & EARTHQUAKES – A BEAUTIFUL & GROUND-BREAKING BOOK

9781474601573

 

‘The Danish Girl’ by David Ebershoff. Oh my heart this book. The story of Lili and Einear is one I will carry forever and ever. It’s ground breaking in the subject matter, the true life story of a man who wants to become a woman and features very early medical procedures. It broke my heart and I have all the love in the world for it. And the film with Eddie Redmayne did it complete and utter justice, which is something I rarely say about book to film movies!

 

APOLLO: GOD OF THE ARTS – A BEAUTIFUL BOOK COVER

9781781255445

 

9781444788983

 

Just look at them both… so gorgeous and stroke-able…. mmmmmm!

 

HYPNOS: GOD OF SLEEP – A BOOK SO BORING YOU ALMOST FELL ASLEEP

9781447286219

 

‘Luckiest Girl Alive’ Jessica Knoll. This was pitched as a ‘thriller’. I have never been so un-thrilled by a book. I hated the main character, nothing really happened and there was no ‘twist’ whatsoever. Yawn.

 

HERMES: MESSENGER OF THE GODS – A BOOK YOU SPED THROUGH

9781444758993

‘Red Rising’ by Pierce Brown. I gorydamn love the Red Rising trilogy (and Pierce Brown!) He has the viciousness of George R.R. Martin when it comes to offing characters and the storytelling ability of a God. I cannot wait for ‘Irongold’ to come out… literally I am jumping up and down for this to be published. If you want action, trauma, amazing characters and a fan-bloody-tastic story then read these. Read these now!

 

This was such a genius book tag – well done Zuky! I tag anyone and everyone who fancies it.

One thought on “The Greek Gods Book Tag

  1. Thanks for doing the tag Emma! I just bought The Essex Serpent (mainly for the cover) and I recently decluttered Luckiest Girl Alive so I’m happy to see I made the right decision on that one 😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

