My Bookish Month · Posts 2017

My Bookish Month – June

1496306040247

 

WHAT I’VE BEEN READING

 

20170701_095744

 

‘The Wages of Sin’ by Kaite Welsh –  This book had all the ingredients for my perfect read – Victorian, murder, a female doctor and brothels! I absolutely adored this book and I cannot wait for more Sarah Gilchrist adventures. I hope Kaite Welsh is a fast writer! Review – ‘The Wages of Sin’ by Kaite Welsh

 

‘Fierce Kingdom’ by Gin Phillips – This was a tense and gripping read. I held my breath the entire time I was reading it (well it felt like it anyway!) A beautiful and powerful portrait of the strength of a mother’s love and the fierce need to protect our young. Review to come.

 

‘The Floating Theatre’ by Martha Conway – I really enjoyed this book. It had a great setting – a floating theatre and the main character, May, was refreshing and endearing. It was an entertaining read and full of well written characters. Review to come.

 

‘The Himalayan Summer’ by Louise Brown – Another book I’ve read this month exploring the power of a mother’s love. The location of this book attracted me and drew me in. There are beautiful descriptions of the Himalayas and this is a great read to escape with. Review – ‘The Himalayan Summer’ by Louise Brown

 

‘Western Fringes’ by Amer Anwar – This is a gritty, urban crime thriller and not something I would normally read, but I’m glad I did! The characters are so well written and the subject matter is very timely. Amer Anwar explores the cultural differences and racism between Sikhs and Muslims and has created a gripping novel around it. Review to come.

 

‘The Story of Classic Crime in 100 Books’ by Martin Edwards – This book is an absolute must for any fan of classic crime. It’s an exploration into the Golden Age of crime fiction, the main influencers, the writing trends and how it evolved. I now have a nice little list of classic crime books that I plan to seek out and enjoy after reading this! Review to come.

 

‘Jakob’s Colours’ by Lindsay Hawdon – A beautifully written book that looks at the treatment of gypsies during World War Two. This took me a while to get into but the ending left me haunted, it will be a book that lingers with me for a long time.

 

BOOK POST

I’ve had a superb month for book post. My TBR piles are just never going to decrease at this rate! Everything I’ve received this month looks brilliant and I just wish I had more time to read. Sigh – such is a bookworms life. I would have included a synopsis for all of these buuuuuut that would have been the longest blog post ever, so I opted to leave that out!

20170701_095714

 

‘The Music Shop’ by Rachel Joyce

‘Fierce Kingdom’ by Gin Phillips

‘The Faithful’ by Juliet West

‘The Story of Classic Crime in 100 Stories’ by Martin Edwards

‘The Sunshine Sisters’ by Jane Green

‘Mussolini’s Island’ by Sarah Day

‘Tin Man’ by Sarah Winman

‘Three Days and A Life’ by Pierre Lemaitre

‘I know A Secret’ by Tess Gerritsen

‘Death Makes A Prophet’ by John Bude

‘Anna’ by Niccolo Ammaniti

 

Thank you to all the lovely publishers that have provided these reading copies. Though my groaning book shelves probably don’t thank you!

 

My first read for July is ‘The Music Shop’ by Rachel Joyce and as expected it’s beautiful, entertaining, full of characters I’m falling in love with and a delight to read.

 

11 thoughts on “My Bookish Month – June

  1. I read The Floating Theatre many moons ago and from what I remember, it was definitely a delightful and charming read.Conway’s creativity and historical allusions are wonderfully illustrated.
    I look forward to reading your upcoming review on the novel! Happy July Reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

