Posts 2017 · Reviews · Reviews 2017

Review – ‘The Sunshine Sisters’ by Jane Green

20170729_104234
THE BOOK

It was never easy, being one of Ronni Sunshine’s daughters. Publicly, she is the glamorous, successful, dramatic Hollywood actress. Privately, she is self-absorbed, angry, and a disinterested, narcissistic mother.

Now in her seventies, Ronni has had strange symptoms for a while, but has refused to believe her diagnosis: she has ALS, a degenerative motor neuron disease. There is no cure.

Ronni’s three adult daughters – Nell, Meredith, and Lizzy – are largely estranged, both from her, and from each other. All are going through crises of their own. But Ronni is adamant that they must come home, and help her take her own life. As their mother’s illness draws them together to confront old jealousies and secret fears, they discover that blood might be thicker than water after all …

 

THE REVIEW

Jane Green is an author I always enjoy. I can guarantee her books will give me a great story to immerse myself in and escape with and her characters always leap out from the pages. I’ve read all of her books and I think ‘The Sunshine Sisters’ has to be her best. Within its pages we meet Nell, Meredith, Lizzy and their mother Ronni. Estranged from each other they are reunited at a time of sadness, with Ronni forcing them together by announcing her terminal illness.

This is such a beautiful tale of family and love. The first few chapters give us a little of the history of the Sunshine family, telling us how they came to be in the place they are today. I have to say I really enjoyed these little snippets and I was a little disappointed when they stopped!

All three of the sister’s found their way into my heart. Nell, the farm girl who enjoys simple living and an uncomplicated life. Meredith who lives in London, has a constant battle with her weight and who is engaged to a horrendous man. Lizzy, celebrity chef, business extraordinaire and who’s marriage is crumbling around her. These three could not be more different and over the years have drifted apart. Can the loss of their mother help them heal those old wounds?

A delightful read, I had many laugh out loud moments with this one. It’s touching, warm, full of believable characters and just simply a wonderful story.

 

BOOKISH CORNER RATING – 5/5 STARS

 

THE AUTHOR

Jane Green is the international bestselling author of eighteen previous novels. Jane lives in Connecticut with her husband, their blended family of six children and an assortment of (far too many) animals.

9781447288534

‘The Sunshine Sister’s is out now in hardback published by Pan Macmillan. With thanks to the guys at @PanMacNews for my review copy.

 

If you enjoyed ‘The Sunshine Sisters’ then you should check these out:

‘The Beach House’ by Jane Green

‘The Identicals’ by Elin Hildebrand

‘Things I Want My Daughters To Know’ by Elizabeth Nobel

‘The Stranger In My Home’ by Adele Parks

3 thoughts on “Review – ‘The Sunshine Sisters’ by Jane Green

  1. Thank you for the review. As much as I would love to read the book I think it will hit too close to home. My mother passed away with the same disease and even though it was years ago, I’m not sure I can take on the subject in a book just yet. Perhaps I’ll never be able to take it on. I am glad there is more focus on it and I hope people will pick it up. Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks again.

    Ana

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry to hear that. Some wounds don’t ever heal – I understand why you would want to avoid this book *hugs*. I’m glad you enjoyed the review, it’s always good when a book comes along and brings attention to things like this xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

