Posts 2017 · Top Ten

Top Ten – Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

1502363886072

 

I got this idea from the wonderful Zuky over at BookBum. And I’ve seen the idea spread over book blogger land so I figured it was about time I compiled my list! (If you don’t already follow Zuky then I recommend you do. I love her original blog posts and I just wish I had the time to create posts like she does.) Working in a bookshop means I’ve read A LOT and my author pool is varied and vast so it was actually harder than I thought to come up with authors I’ve never read. But here they are:

 

Ian McEwan

Atonement (Paperback)Enduring Love (Paperback)

His books have just never appealed to me. They always look a little too literary for me and I don’t really enjoy books that are like that which is why I have avoided them. And probably always will to be honest!

 

Kathy Reichs

Deja Dead: (Temperance Brennan 1) - Temperance Brennan (Paperback)Speaking in Bones (Paperback)

I love the TV show Bones, me and the other half are working through the all of them at the moment. I don’t think I would enjoy the books as much now that I’ve seen the show.

 

Arthur Conan Doyle

The Hound of the Baskervilles - Penguin Clothbound Classics (Paperback)A Study in Scarlet (Paperback)

I have no excuse for this one. It is shameful – I’m a huge fan of classic crime and I have never read a Sherlock Holmes (hangs head in shame!) I fully intend to, I have just never got round to it.

 

Philippa Gregory

The White Queen - COUSINS' WAR (Paperback)The King's Curse - COUSINS' WAR (Paperback)

I don’t mind the odd bit of historical fiction but Philippa Gregory has never been my historical author of choice.

 

Lisa Jewell

The Girls (Paperback)The House We Grew Up In (Paperback)

I’ve heard heaps of good things about Lisa Jewell’s books but to date have never picked one up. They sound right up my street as well so I don’t know why I haven’t!

 

George Orwell

Nineteen Eighty-Four - Penguin Modern Classics (Paperback)Animal Farm - Penguin Modern Classics (Paperback)

These are too much like school must reads for to see them as enjoyable!

 

Val McDermid

The Mermaids Singing - Tony Hill and Carol Jordan 1 (Paperback)Out of Bounds (Paperback)

A crime writer who writes gory, twisted crime that I haven’t read?! Yep… I’ve had ‘The Mermaids Singing’ sat on my shelf for forever but all the shiny new books just keep pushing it to the back of the queue.

 

John Grisham

The Firm (Paperback)Rogue Lawyer (Paperback)

Every blurb of every John Grisham book makes them all sound exactly the same which puts me off.

 

Harlan Coben

The Stranger (Paperback)The Woods (Paperback)

Another author whose books in theory I would love. But have yet to find one that grabs me enough to read.

 

Ray Bradbury

Fahrenheit 451 (Paperback)Something Wicked This Way Comes (Paperback)

I really fancy reading ‘Fahrenheit 451’ yet something has kept me from taking the plunge. This is something I do plan to rectify!

So are there any authors on here you love that I must read? Have any of them passed you by as well? 

26 thoughts on “Top Ten – Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

  1. This is such a fun idea! I must admit, I’ve only read (and loved) two of the authors on your list – I feel really guilty for not having read any Conan Doyle!

    One of the authors I have read is Ian McEwan. I had to read On Chesil Beach for uni last term, and I found it a really great, refreshing read. It’s about two newlyweds who are honeymooning at Chesil Beach, Dorset, who come to realise that, really, they don’t know anything about each other. I was surprised by how simple his style was – it wasn’t too literary at all, and it was a really quick read even for someone like me, who reads at a snail’s pace (it’s a novella more than a big-ass novel), so it would be the perfect book if you were thinking of dipping your toes into McEwan. I have a copy of Atonement on my bookshelf, waiting to be read.

    As for George Orwell, I really, really recommend 1984. Again, it’s a book I had to read for uni, but it grabbed me and I loved it. There’s something deeply unsettling about it, how it’s our world but a few degrees off – the perfect dystopia!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I only read one McDermid and was so grossed out that I told myself I wasn’t going to read any by her again 😂

    I’ve read quite a few by Reichs, Coben, and Gregory. Despite recent efforts by Grisham no quite hitting the mark for me, I’m still a fan. And I always felt Alison Weir is better than Gregory.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh you have some treats to look forward to there!! And a great variety of books! Sherlock Holmes is so readable (and short) I’m sure you’ll catch up with his storied quickly! Enduring love is great & I enjoyed Philippa Gregory’s recent series on the Lancaster dynasty ! Great idea for a post as well! Really enjoyed!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I read one Phillipa Gregory Book, Loved it and immediately bought every other in the series but got fed up half way through the second. They’re all still sitting on the shelf unread. I’m rubbish with series…I think I have commitment issues! Lisa Jewell is my absolute favourite …so I’m going to urge you to read one of her books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

